Concatenate Design Options

Is there a way to concatenate Design Options together in Revit?
Example:
If (Option Set 1_Option A), (Option Set 2_Option A)
If (Option Set 1_Option B), (Option Set2_Option B)

Many Thanks,
A.

What do you mean exactly? You can concatenate the strings, but what do you actually want to do?

Thanks Nick, I am new to Dynamo but I will try my best,
Let’s say I have 2 Design Options (Option Set 1 & 2, each one with 3 options inside A/B/C).
I want to pair design options together, so when I select Option Set 1-A, I automatically select Option Set 2-A as well.

Are you talking about functionality within Revit? So that activating one design set’s option also activates another design set’s similar option? This is not possible. Design sets are separate and unconnected. If you want two options to always be shown together then they should just be one option.

If you’re just talking about managing and manipulating these options/sets within Dynamo, then yes, you could group options (in their respective set) based on name or manual assignment. But this would not transfer to Revit unless you wrote a script to update all views based on option selections.

I would like a Dynamo script to push these changes into Revit. All my views are always set to in terms of Design Option. How would you go about building a script like this?

Thanks for the support :slight_smile:

I’d first ask again, if each set has a solution that is tied to other solutions in different sets, why have separate sets in the first place?

You could also create view templates specifically for each group of options you want to control together and apply these as needed. Your typical view templates would have no control over design options. This would allow you to control the visibility by using “Apply Template Properties”, which only applies the properties not currently controlled by the active template without actually changing the template itself.