Combine lists

Hi all, I’m trying to create a new list or replace items in a list based on values from another list, please see below. I want to take each item in List B and replace it only if the item in List A is true:

Combine listsI think one can achieve this through the List.Combine node but I don’t know how to build the Combinator for it. There is also the List.Replace node, but you cannot specify a condition using another list (you have to use the list wired in “item”). Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Dave

Hi Dave,

It must be possible with original Dynamo nodes. However it’s much easier with Python.

이미지 1

It’s very convenient to use Python script especially when you want to deal with muliple lists at once.

Thanks Hyunu, very much appreciated :slight_smile: I guess I’ll have to bite the bullet and learn some Python! I just couldn’t figure out a way to do this with regular nodes. I’m still learning Dynamo and list management is very important to do anything really. There are several list nodes that I’m just starting to use, especially those that use combinators, and other nodes that use keyProjector (those I’m having a hard time understanding without seeing an example since there’s not much when it comes to documentation).

Dave your lists present a bit of a challenge because they’re lists containing sub-lists. The challenge stems from the fact that most solutions might require you to flatten your list even if you might want to preserve that list structure. Luckily Dynamo’s “List.FilterByBoolMask” is pretty powerful and can handle any list rank and one of its “features” is that it tries to preserve that list’s rank. Combine that with one of Andreas’s many useful nodes and you end up with a very robust solution.

Capture