Bulk reload Revit families from a different directory using dynamo

Hi All ,

I have a Revit project containing multiple families, and I want to Bulk reload these families (after making some modifications to their external files). I know what I need to do, but I got stuck while using Dynamo. I would greatly appreciate it if you could help me translate this issue into a Dynamo script.

What have you tried so far?

Hello ,
thank you Mr.Jacob for your reponse .
I’m pretty new to dynamo, I’m looking for some help to bulk reload several families into a Revit project.
I started by creating a list of external families, then I created a list of families that I used in my project.
I can’t find how I can extract from these external families the files which have the same names as the families used in my project, then reload these families into the project.
Thank you in advance for your help.

How would you do this manually? Perhaps get the family name (likely there is a property node in the Family section of the Dynamo for Revit library for this), and compare that to the list of file names?

I already have a list of the names of the families used in my project, however I want to obtain from the external .rfa families those which have the same names as the families in my project! I can’t find the command that allows me to do this comparison of names.
Added to that i try to reload family using “Document.LoadFamily” but that didin’t work .

1 Like

You don’t have a list of names, but a list of families. This is clearly indicated by the green highlighted element id. You could also utilize a Object.Type node to find out what type of data you have. Names are a type of string.

As you want to compare the name, you need to extract it from the family object, so try Family.Name node. This will return a string so you can start to do your comparison.