Beam length cut optimization

Hi, i am trying to determine how many standard length beams i need to buy in order to have minimal waste residue. I am fairly new to dynamo so I only have the starting phase of this project and an idea on how to create the rest but I don’t know how to actually do that.

I introduced all the beams I need. I now need to create a new list that takes the first element and combines it with another element from that list and so on until the sum is equal or less than the standard cut length, then the same for algorithm for the next element. The items must not be repeated.

So is there a way to do that?
Thank you,

Wrong binding in the first picture

A list of basic nodes to use for this task can be found here along with their description:
http://dictionary.dynamobim.com/#/Operators/Action
This will let you start elaborating on your concept

@r.anghelus Basically, the total length of the individual beams divided by the standard length should give you the number of standard lengths, right?

If I’ve correctly understood your intent, below is a graph somewhat similar to yours that does the needful

2 Likes

Thanks. It’s helpful.

Thank you for your reply, but that’s not what I a after. I can do that math inside Revit.
What I want to do is determine how many individual beams I can cut from standard length beams with minimum wastage.

As you can determine from the following example: Let’s say I need to cut 10 beams at 90 un and the standard lenght is 100 un. The math you provided will result in 900 un - 9 standard beams, but if do so then the 10th beam will be composed from individual residues of 10un each.

Just a question: is the standard length at 500 and the lengths you need at 300, 400 and 320 as shown in the picture, or is it other values in reality?

They are test values. I want to create my own way of designing timber roof frames (in seismic areas) and I also want to control cost. I will attach a picture. Sorry but the naming is Romanian.