Automation of Typing Finishing Materials into Room Schedule

Hi everyone,

I’m new at Dynamo, and have an issue with Revit room schedules. I also asked about that in Revit forums.

I want to automate of typing finishing materials into room schedule cells. In Revit, finishing materials in schedule must be typed one by one as text or create a key schedule to make things easier. However, some projects have many different room types with many finishing material combinations.

In Dynamo, is it possible to design a graph which will be able to pick finishing materials of wall, floor and ceiling? If I could pick finishing materials (last layer of wall/floor/ceiling) for each rooms, this material information could set into room schedule cells such as wall finish, floor finish, ceiling finish.

Is there a way to get finish materials of a room?

Check the Room.Finishes node in the Clockwork package.

1 Like

Great, thanks. I tried quickly to get a material name from any room, and it worked as in the graph. Now, I must find the finishing materials for each room. Is it possible to find finishing materials from this list? If I could find them, I would set this material information into the Revit schedule.

What do you mean finishing materials?

It has detected ‘structure layer’ of the floor. I need to find the finishing material, not leveling screed, laminated parquet as in the example. It is not listed. 0 and 1 indexes in “finishMaterials List” are structure layers of 2 separate floors.

Post the dyn and a sample file and I’ll try to have a look.

I did this using SpatialElementGeometryCalculator to GetBoundaryFaceInfo of each face of a Room solid. This is probably pretty sloppy in terms of execution but it worked. I collected edge loops in order to identify which walls were different from the others (accent walls, etc.) with a Detail Item in plan.

import clr

clr.AddReference("RevitAPI")
import Autodesk
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import *

clr.AddReference("RevitServices")