Automating Openings and Room Data Integration in Skirting Board Generation using Dynamo

Dear Dynamo Community,

I have been developing for the automatic generation of skirting boards. I have successfully created a script that works around the boundaries of rooms, but I am facing challenges in implementing two key features: introducing openings in the skirting boards and integrating room-specific data.

1. Door/Window/… Opening in Skirting Board: I am unsure how to automate the process of creating openings within the skirting board.

2. Integration of Room Data: Another aspect I’m grappling with is how to link and integrate data from individual rooms to the corresponding skirting board. Ideally, I would like the skirting board to dynamically adapt to the unique characteristics of each room it borders.

I want to emphasize that I am relatively new to Dynamo, and I appreciate your understanding and patience with what might seem like basic questions.

Hello @Brecht and welcome to the forum…probably something here

2 Likes

Hi @Brecht,

We recently worked on a similar python script:

-For the openings (doors, …), we found that the easiest is to join the new skirting to the existing wall. Thus the new wall will replicate the openings (doors, …). This does not work if the holes were created modifying the wall profile, for those cases you can create rectangular openings in the skirting, this is a bit more tricky.
-Additionaly, you can get which type of element are on each room boundary. If you find a room separation line or curtain wall for instance, you can also ignore those boundaries as it is likely that there is no skirting on those cases.

Our python script is published in NonicaTab FREE. Feel free to also have a look!

Hello,

Thx for the reply.
This is the result. Not the same as yours.

Your solution probably only works if the Skirting board is a Wall type?

The skirting board i’m using is an line based generic model.