Your thoughts on the future of Generative Design in Revit

Hi everyone,

I’ve been experimenting with Generative Design (GD) in Revit for a few months but its future is not yet clear for me. It’s really cool and I see many applications but it relies so much on the person who makes the script. And to bust the myths around GD requires one to try it out themselves which requires good skill-level in both designing and scripting and time.

I suppose I see BIM growing into something even smarter (analyzing capabilities) and then working together with GD algorithm to automatically suggest changes in ones design. Only then I see it becoming what is commonly said about GD. That it’s supposed to be an ‘assisting tool’.

How do you guys see the future of Generative Design in Revit?

Kind regards,
Tenzin Lungtok

It does require a high level of skill with Dynamo and design. It also requires a new mindset for what design is and an understanding of the technical limits of the tool. I give a series of presentations which take nearly a full business day to provide a foundational skill set in Dynamo.

That said I have worked with people who have seen design efforts reduced by more than 90% after such knowledge is attained. That is a number which is on par with switching from hand drafting to CAD, or from CAD to BIM in terms of impact. And just like those technical evolutions which came before, there is a skill set which has to be built up, and a mindset which has to be required.

There are other tools which are easier to learn out there - ie: TestFit, Spacemaker - which may feel like they offer a similar results with less effort. These are super useful and very powerful and should be something you add to your toolset. However in those cases you are using the tool which you are given, and if it doesn’t do the thing you want it to, you will need to invest in another tool.