While loop for finding the appropriate surface area

I have been developing a script to reconstruct the geometry from the Estonian digital twin system. Along the way, I have learned a lot and my previous posts here have received beneficial responses. As I am still relatively new to the dynamo world, I am having trouble figuring out the [Imperative] block for the while loop.

The problem I am trying to fix is related to matching the surface area of the original geometry to the threshold area by offsetting the original polycurve. That is, I want to decrease the area by offsetting the original polycurve until it meats the threshold area.

Maybe I do not need a code block for this, but this seems to be the most apparent approach to me now.

The problem with offsets is that as some point you lose the fidelity of the shape.

Why not use the Geometry.Scale node instead?

1 Like

Depending on the accuracy needs, you could make a python loop with a desired number of iterations (accuracy) that re-calcs the area from the offset. I prefer not to use a while loop. If you use it, cap it so that any mistakes (like briefly clicking away before finishing) will not freeze Dynamo.

Below is a sample, that can be really improved for speed:

• can add a way to offset in either direction
  • can be optimized for speed (super rough logic…)

These settings are not too slow for this single surface example…

2022-03-22 - 20-01-46

Python Node Code

# EvolveLAB | https://www.evolvelab.io
# 2022-03-22

# Load the Python Standard and DesignScript Libraries
import sys
import clr
clr.AddReference('ProtoGeometry')
from Autodesk.DesignScript.Geometry import *

# inputs
polyCurveOrig = IN[0][0]
targetArea = IN[1]
offsetStepDist = IN[2]

def areaOfPolyCurve(pCurve):
    area = Surface.ByPatch(pCurve).Area
    return area

# vars
polyCurveNew = polyCurveOrig
offsetDist = 0
newArea = areaOfPolyCurve(polyCurveOrig)

# assumes that original shape is larger than the target