Wall not updated in model on Element.SetParameterByName

Hi!

I’m an experienced programmer but have never touched Dynamo until yesterday and I am really enjoying the easy and straightforward approach. I have, however, got stuck on something very particular and I have not seen anyone else experiencing this after a lot of googling so I’ll just have to post my first thread here and hope to get some input from the experts.

Long story, but I need to replace a bunch of windows with walls of a particular type. This is what I have automated and it is working great… about 70% of the time. I can not find any kind of consistency on the failures, they look to be entirely random to me. So far I am only replacing one window at the time and I can do it on the same window and have it work 3 times and then fail the fourth time. Also when replacing other windows it simply works sometimes, others not. No errors or warnings are generated.

The procedure creates a wall with the height of the selected window where the window is placed and then uses Element.SetParameterByName to set “Base offset” to the window’s “Sill Height” (since there is no Node that I can find that can reliably create a wall with a certain Base Offset from start).

Most of the times it works like a charm but others the newly created wall gets stuck on the wrong height off the floor with its base 915mm off the Sill Height rather than on the Sill Height (that is 915mm off the floor).
Here is the weirdest part, when I go into revit and look at the walls properties the Base Offset is in fact set to the correct value… the new wall is simply being rendered int he wrong place!