Visual Center for Rooms

Hi everyone,

I’m trying to get the visual center of rooms for centering them. The scripts I have found are based on the solids.centroid function but this doesn’t work for L-shaped or U-shaped rooms.

Has anyone already found a way to it in Dynamo (a little bit as described here in the mapbox blog https://blog.mapbox.com/a-new-algorithm-for-finding-a-visual-center-of-a-polygon-7c77e6492fbc

Thank you

Hi @amadeumagalhaes

Is this what you need?

Hi @Kulkul

I’m looking for the visual center and not the centroid…
It would be something like this…

I just found some documentation on a “inner centroid”

And more notably information on SHAPELY, a BSD-licensed Python package for manipulation and analysis of planar geometric objects.

I’m a noob in Python but anyone thinks that it would be possible to use their object.representative_point in dynamo ?

https://shapely.readthedocs.io/en/latest/manual.html#object.representative_point

Thanks !!!

Hi Amadeu,

Indeed, the centroids can be outside the polygon:

But the Polylabel algorithm can be used with Revit :

And it’s a good way to tag items :

18 Likes

Merci @Alban_de_Chasteigner !!!

Sincere thanks Alban your posts helps me a lot in many situations :ok_hand:

1 Like

Hello @Alban_de_Chasteigner. I have tried using the Element Inner Centroid but am getting nothing but null values

In the screenshot I am using Solids but have also tried this with just the room elements and still nothing.

Hi,

A solid isn’t a Revit element so it can’t work.
Make sure you are using an updated version of the Genius Loci package.
Show the entire graph with the rooms connected to the Element Inner Centroid node.

1 Like

I have used some other nodes to get some test data for now but would like to replace some of the nodes with the centroid node from Genius Loci. I have downloaded the latest version from the package manager. Open to suggestions on how I can fix this so that the centroid node works.