Understanding DesignScript, "return [Imperative]", and "if-else" Better

Hello, Dynamo Forum! I’ve been using Dynamo for a while now for Revit (mainly for exploring its capabilities in modelling and organizing data). Recently, I’ve made the step to try coding within Dynamo to study automating workflows within Revit. However, I’m new to DesignScript, so I don’t understand some things, even when reading excerpts from the DesignScript guide over and over again.

In the image above, I’ve tried making a program that uses a function to list ordinal numbers, given a range of numbers. I made it work, but I’m not sure I understand it completely. For example:

1. Why do I need to assign a variable “d = floor” for the program to work? Does it matter whether I make this definition in the associative block of the function or inside the imperative block?

2. What’s the significance of the line “return [Imperative]”? I’ve seen other topics coding “var = [Imperative]”. Is that also correct, and what function does that have? I only know that imperative blocks are needed to add conditional statements into code blocks in DesignScript.

3. Lastly, is there a way to write this program better? Like, I’ve tried using “if(num==[11,12,13])” for line 8, but it doesn’t work. I suppose you can’t use lists inside conditionals? What else can you use and not use inside conditional statements? Can this program be written better using a “for” statement?

I know I have a lot of questions, so I apologize if I may take too much of your time. I really want to learn more about DesignScript, but the DS confuses me more often. Please answer only what you can, and I’ll close the topic when I have sufficient answers. Thank you!