Track Dynamo Usage

Hello,

I have currently develop a python script which will output some basic user information for me to track the dynamo script usage across the company. However, instead of copy and paste this node into every single script, is there a way to read this Python script from a shared location (and what file would that be)? So that if I ever need to update it, I will only need to update this share file.

I am new to Python! So if you can kindly explain in details that would be very helpful to me, too. :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and helps!

Welcome to the forums!

As a single python node, no, I don’t think that’s possible. I’d suggest looking into shared packages. That’s basically what you’re describing. You can accomplish this by creating a custom node and adding that to all your graphs. Then you would only need to update the custom node in the shared package location to have it updated across all instances.

2 Likes

Thank you @Nick_Boyts

Just to clarify that I get this correctly. So I will need to create a custom node, which will live in all the graphs, and this node reads from the shared packages folder. The custom node in the shared package will be in .dyf ?

Correct. The nodes you place in a graph are obviously references to the dyf that they represent. By creating a custom node (with or without deploying an actual package), you can then reference that node in any graph and maintain the python code within the actual dyf. You just need to make sure that everyone running graphs with the custom node have access to where it’s located.

2 Likes