Set parameter values by using Python

Hello everyone!,
I am trying to set the parameter values of all elements using python embedded in Dynamo.
I have a list of parameter value (p11) and a list of parameter name (Paramname). When I set the parameter values using .Set() by looping over the parameter value list (p11). only the last item of the parameter value is set to the item. Which means I am unable to loop the .Set().
I am a beginner in python scripting . Any help is appreciated

Home.dyn (53.9 KB)

The variable names are quite difficult to understand to be able to understand your problem. I don’t know if this is related to your problem, but I noticed that one of your functions is structured in a way that it will only run once:

def flatlist(p1): #flatten parameter list
	flat_list = []
	for sublist in p1:
		flat_list = [x for item in sublist for x in item]
   		return flat_list

You are using a return statement within your for loop, which will cause the function to exit prematurely. For example, if you have the following list of lists:

[[0, 0],
 [0, 1],
 [0, 2]]

Your function would return [0, 0]. You are also defining the variable flat_list twice–perhaps you meant to append each of the flattened lists to a different list?

Edit: The function actually expects an additional level of nesting. See comment further down.

I am unable to flatten the list! I get this error! Any solution??

I actually misinterpreted the function. Your function assumes the input is a list of lists of lists (2 levels of nesting). The error implies that one of the inner items is a float (number), not a list.

sublist_1 = [[0, 1],
             [2, 3],
             [4, 5]]
sublist_2 = [[6, 7],
             [8, 9],
             [0, 1]]
outer_list = [sublist_1, sublist_2]

The first ‘item’ in sublist_1 would be [0, 1], and then the first ‘x’ would be 0.

Running your function directly on either sublist_1 or sublist_2 would raise a TypeError.

1 Like