Revit Project Units - Revit 22+

Hey Guys, I hope this is in the correct category. In Dynamo I am using a Python Script to first get the Project unit length.
For the life of me I can’t figure out how to set the units to either “Feet and Fractional inches” or “Millimeters”.
I am getting lost between all of the different blogs. I am fairly new to writhing/cannibalizing code.

import clr
clr.AddReference("RevitServices")
import RevitServices 
from RevitServices.Persistence import DocumentManager
uiapp = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentUIApplication
app = uiapp.Application

clr.AddReference('RevitAPI')
import Autodesk
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import *

results=[]

doc = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentDBDocument

unitTypes = [SpecTypeId.Length]
for unitType in unitTypes:
	formatOption = doc.GetUnits().GetFormatOptions(unitType)
	symUnit = formatOption.GetUnitTypeId()
	symType = formatOption.GetSymbolTypeId()
	try:dispSym = LabelUtils.GetLabelForSymbol(symType)
	except:dispSym = None
	dispUnit = LabelUtils.GetLabelForUnit(symUnit)
results.append([dispUnit,dispSym])

OUT = results

err yeah, so i can’t tell you how to pull your project unit types using python but what i can say is play with this method and you might find your correct answer.

If you assume all measurements coming from revit are in ft & inch then convert all your number handling to float and / by 304.8

if you need to do calculation etc do them on the metric units as needed and then convert the final mm result to ft and inch by * by 304.8 before you push it back to the revit enviroment.

I had a recent example where i was taking numbers from an exel sheet, doing some calculations with python and then pushing them into parameters in revit, the dynamo graph output showed my number as i expected by when placed in the revit enviroment it was * by 304.8 giving me a whack number.