Revit API for Python

Hi,

I just started learning python and I would like to use it at work. I already played around with Rhino Python Script, and it was very intuitive and fun experience. Now I’m trying to write some code for dynamo Python node, but I just don’t know where to start. I’ve already found the revitapisearch.com , but those commands are not for Python - there is only C#, Visual Basic and Visual C++. So as I understand, this won’t work with Dynamo Python node nor PythonShell, right? Or am I being stupid? Could someone give me a simple example how to, lets say, create a reference point in specified coordinates with Python? I just need a piece of a simple code to see how it should be done. Is there any way I could use revitapisearch with python?

Best

1 Like

Hi,

Have you had a chance to check out the python guide for 0.7?

The last code snippet should work for reference points.

Thank you, Dimitar. I have checked the examples from this article, and it was very helpful. However I have a problem with XYZ() - Python says it’s not been defined, whether I use doubles as coordinates or leave an empty bracket. Do you know what could be the cause? Does it have something to do with Revit version?

Best

You are likely missing a reference to the Revit API like this:

import clr
clr.AddReference(‘RevitAPI’)
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import *

You can find a lot of examples here:

(These are all the Python scripts from package Clockwork extracted as separate files…)

1 Like

Question Marc, Were you able to solve your original post? I am just now starting and wold like to know if C# Scrips can be used or if there is an API library for Revit Python.

I know there’s no API library for Revit in Python. I heard from Ehsan Iran-Nejad that they are looking to implement some code samples & syntax in Python in revitapidocs.com. Nothing has been happening yet but I also have this question: