A couple of questions

Hi

I am new to all the 3 worlds revit(basic), dynamo(just started), revit API(makes my head hurt and might be the monster under my bed).

I have written some basic dynamo codes mostly to query a model (like getting the cross section rotation angles, batch add shared parameters, batch add family parameters)

I have also installed the revit lookup and revitpythonshell packages.

These questions might be too basic:

1. When I use RevitLookup to snoop an element it gives a whole lot of parameters.
    The get element parameters through dynamo node gives a subset of these.
    How do I access the rest of the parameters?

2. The revit API documentation and help files are NOT in python (they are for either C# or .NET).
    The custom dynamo nodes are in python.
    How do I know what class/objects to use in the dot notation that is used in revit API.

3. I am trying to rotate model elements by an angle. Wrote the following dynamo script.
    It was not working so I changed the .dyf file to DSCore.Lists (based on some posts here). Now it runs but the element is not rotated. The element is a model line

4. How do I perform sequential operations in dynamo?
    Ex: Get the existing angle, rotate by angle, report the new angle, to actually see that something happened without having to freeze unfreeze parts of the code and re run it again.

5. What is the difference between revit python shell window and the custom python node?

6. What is UnwrapElements?

7. Coming from MATLAB background is there a good IDE for all this, which helps me through the errors, (the autocompletion works)

8. A comparison of if/then constructs and list map and lacing constructs ?

9. Where do I start ?

I really appreciate anyone helping me out here.

Thanks

A lot of questions here…

1. Only the parameters under “Parameters” are available with Element.GetParameterValueByName.