Replace Multiple Search Strings

thank you very much, i am an overwhelmed beginner :slight_smile: still having trouble here…

for some reason the list.filterbyboolmask gives me 197 positions and the string.replace gives me only 8 positions back. I understand it probably comes from the list I created that contains 8 items to be searched, but i dont know how to solve the problem… I tried Cross Product and the string replace multiple but was not succesful either… Thank you very much!

Not an expert, but i think you should use List.Combine in addition to String.Replace. I proceed that way when I have an occurrence of a family on Revit of which I want to change multiple parameters.

Hi @bialmeida

Try changing lacing to longest for String.Replace node:

Thanks… I kind of understand what happens but I dont know why or how to fix it again - looks better than before though! Revit didnt replace the items until number 7, that coincidentally has a string value “NUF_Shops”, the same as the 7. item of my list.create. Number 6 NUF-Mall wasnt replaced either…

In case you want to do it fast and clean, you can use this python script:

listreplace

list = IN[0]
newlist = []

for x in list:
    if "NUF" in x:
        newlist.append(1)
    else:
        newlist.append(x)

OUT = newlist
2 Likes

Take a look at this (concerns the different type of lacings) : http://dynamoprimer.com/en/06_Designing-with-Lists/6-1_whats-a-list.html

I don’t really think that you this is about longest lacing here, and I think that you should use List.Combine. I’ll try to make a quick example.

Edit : replace multiple strings.dyn (15.1 KB)

Ok, unfortunately, couldn’t get to do it with only List.Combine, but here’s another way. A python way, like luca suggested, might be the best way to go :slight_smile:

2 Likes

@bialmeida @mellouze @lucamanzoni Here is another possible way using dictionary.

gifgif

6 Likes

Thank you very much, that works quite well!