Rename Family Types of a List of elements, using a list of names

Hi there

I am new here, and it has been awesome reading about what is going on with dynamo.

I have been trying to use the code below to assign to each element on a list a particular name (family type) that is also on a list. But so far, I haven’t been successful in doing so (Please see the image and python code attached). Seems like I am not able to iterate through the elements on the list but just use all the elements on my list at once. I guess “element.Symbol.Name” is not suitable for this case, but I have no clue what might work.
The last “name” on the list is assigned to all elements and not to the last element on the list. To wrap up, the family type of my elements should be:

• PIER_1_Column_1
    PIER_1_Column_2
    PIER_2_Column_1
    PIER_2_Column_2

I am not very experienced with Revit API, so any suggestions or comments are welcome. Don’t be shy :smile:

Cheers,

# Load the Python Standard and DesignScript Libraries
import sys
import clr
clr.AddReference('RevitServices')
import RevitServices
from RevitServices.Persistence import DocumentManager
from RevitServices.Transactions import TransactionManager
doc = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentDBDocument

import clr
clr.AddReference('RevitAPI')
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import *

elements = UnwrapElement(IN[0])
newname = IN[1]

TransactionManager.Instance.EnsureInTransaction(doc)

for name,element in zip(newname, elements):
	element.Symbol.Name = name

TransactionManager.Instance.TransactionTaskDone()

#Assign your output to the OUT variable.
OUT =  elements

Hi,

I think your Python looks right :slight_smile: I wonder if it’s about how Revit’s data is working…

So, just to be clear… Are you trying to rename some types, or are you trying to change some elements to other types?

If it’s a rename, then I might just feed 1 element of each type… Otherwise you might be trying to rename, then rename it back?