Python script error on calculating point on a circle

Hi all,

I want to use Python to calculate the X and Y value’s on a circle.
I already have script set up but I get an error and my Python knowledge isn’t that good. I’m a beginner at that.
I looked on the net for a way to put the formula in Pyhton and I don’t think that the formula is the problem.
I think it’s one or more of the following:

• The import notation of “math”;
  • The fact that the input is a list and the script needs value’s;
  • the “OUT” notation.

Futher more I want to know if a Python script can have more then one “OUT’s”?
Or do I have to combine the X and Y first into a list and then use that as an out?
The X and Y are the coordinates of points for inserting elements on.

Within dynamo the python coding has to have OUT and is the only output out, but to create more than one element out you have to make the elements into a list then put them as OUT.

EG(also see attached iamge)

OUT = [xCoord,yCoord]

Then you can use a code block and have the following to get the two elements seperatly.

a[0];
a[1];

Aha…okay…thanks for your reply on that.
Did you by any change also had a look at the coding itself?
I still get an error on line 11. That’s the range part.

Well…I solved my problem!
I didn’t use a Python script. I took the coilByFunction.dyn from Colin McCrone from http://dynamobim.org/5-8_tips/
and altered it a bit so I have a code block instead of a Python script.

Original by Colin:

My version:

1 Like

Check this:

import math
NoPiles=32
r=16500
alpha=360/NoPiles
x,y=[],[]
for i in range(1,NoPiles+1):
	alpha_i=alpha*i
	x=r*math.cos(alpha_i)
	y=r*math.sin(alpha_i)
OUT=x,y

WOW!!! :astonished:
I didn’t know that was possible!
Thanks for pointing this out to me. I’ll keep it in mind for the futher.

Not sure what you are trying to achieve but in Python would be something like that:

import clr
clr.AddReference('ProtoGeometry')
from Autodesk.DesignScript.Geometry import *
import math