Python, create new ViewFamilyType

Hi,

I have copied a level in a Revit elevation view to which the level datum is still black not blue, so no views for this level are created yet and I want to create all my new views with python. I found this link and I am unable to translate this code into python myself, I am just starting to learn python, C# and the API. If someone can help me translate this snipit of code for me, I would be much appreciative.

This is the code I want to translate:
ViewFamilyType vft
= new FilteredElementCollector( doc )
.OfClass( typeof( ViewFamilyType ) )
.Cast()
.FirstOrDefault( x =>
ViewFamily.StructuralPlan == x.ViewFamily );

this is the link for reference: Link to the full code. I am wanting to make a Floor and Ceiling plan, not structural if this makes a difference.

Thanks

Hi @aclarke,

I don’t think it’s possible to emulate exactly what Jeremy is doing via Python, since he’s using a .NET specific Linq method (= FirstOrDefault()). See here for more info.

You may be able to do something with a lambda-function, but I think it would be easier to split it up.

Here is an example:

import clr

#Import the Revit API
clr.AddReference('RevitAPI')
import Autodesk
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import *

#Import DocumentManager and TransactionManager
clr.AddReference('RevitServices')
import RevitServices
from RevitServices.Persistence import DocumentManager
from RevitServices.Transactions import TransactionManager

#Reference the active Document and application
doc = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentDBDocument

fec = FilteredElementCollector(doc).OfClass(ViewFamilyType).ToElements()

vft = [x.Id for x in fec if x.ViewFamily == ViewFamily.StructuralPlan][0] #This gets the Id of the ViewFamilyType, 
	#and is sort of what Jeremy does with the Linq method, but it i don't think it can be implemented the same way. 
	#Instead I'm using a list comprehension.

lvls = FilteredElementCollector(doc).OfClass(Level).ToElements() #Collect alle levels

newView = []