Please helps to explain List.TakeEveryNthItem

I am a beginner of Dynamo, and wondering how the List.TakeEveryNthItem works. I have read the dictionary and searched the google and still don’t get how the offset work.

When I got a list

n=3, offset=5,

I saw some forums said, it offset the list by the remainder (which I don’t know remainder means subtract or divide)

Because I am not sure how it works, so I list out all the “possible lists” after offset:
X,X,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,
X,X,X,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9
X,X,X,X,X,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9
and the respective outputs are:
But it turns out the output is 2,5,8

Please helps to explain how this block works.
Really Thanks~

The dictionary says: “Take Every Nth Item will produce a new list keeping items from the input list at intervals of the input ‘n’ value. The starting point of the interval can be changed with the ‘offset’ input. For example, putting 3 into ‘n’ and leaving the ‘offset’ as the default of zero will keep items with indices 2, 5, 8, etc. Changing the offset to 1 would instead keep items with indices 0, 3, 6, etc. Notice that the offset ‘wraps’ through the entire list. To remove selected items instead of keeping them, see ‘DropEveryNthItem’. In the example below, we first generate a list of numbers using Range, and then keep every other number by using 2 as the input for ‘n’.”

The wrap means after it finishes through the list, it will go back again until it reaches the offset. So your offset is 5, so the first item it takes is after 5 (index 4, value 5). With an interval of 3, the next is 8, but the list ends there so it goes back from the start. from 8, count 3 intervals, 9, 1, 2. So the next value is 2.

The list reorders itself to the original order, so instead of 5,8,2 it is 2, 5, 8.

Dear Kenny,

With this logic, it works find with n=3, offset=5.
The new list should be,

But when I change to n=2, offset=5,
the list is the same
5,6,7,8,9 , 1,2,3,4
the output should be 7,9,2,4,6 and rearrange to 2,4,6,7,9.