Pipes by Piping System Type

Guys,

Total noobie here and would appreciate any help or direction.

I have number of pipes, all drawn on different system types ie. Hot Water and Cold Water.

I need to isolate the pipes on by the piping system type so I can apply different parameters to each system. I’ve searched the forum but can’t seem to find what I am after.

Below is what I would like to end up with in a list:

Hot Water
Pipe
Pipe
Pipe
Etc.

I need to always get the pipes of a particular systems regardless of the position in the list as I need to use this graph on multiple project files that may contain different systems.

Again, thanks for any help you can offer.

Hi @hargreaves102

You have 2 queries here?

Get all the elements of category pipes → Connect to GetParameterByname with name of Parameter System Types → Use List.GroupByKey node with list of your pipes and key with Output of SystemTypes. That will group your pipes with system types.

• After you group your pipes with system types use Element.GetLocation that will return lines as output.
  • Use Line.Direction node to get the direction of pipes.
  • Connect Vector.Normalized Vector.Normalized gives us the corresponding unit vectors and enables comparison. The origin of all normalized vectors is the origin and magnitude is 1.
  • Extract x,y,z values from vector by using Vector.X,Y,Z node
  • Use Math.Round node to get round values from Vector.X,Y,Z.
  • Use Vector.ByCoordinates and connect all the Math.Round values of X,Y,Z.
  • Finally use List.GroupByKey to group your pipes by direction.

Hope that makes sense!
Good Luck!

1 Like

Thanks Kukul, i’ll Give it a whirl and let you know how I get on!

Much appreciated!

Here you go
GroupBySystemType.dyn (5.4 KB)

1 Like

Guys, thanks for all your help.

This works great but if possible, I would like to get the piping system type as per the attached images. Do you know if this is possible?

Thanks again.