Parametric design on Dynamo : how to control distances between curves? Attached the Dynamo script and Excel File

Hello,
I’m new to geometry control on Dynamo. I’m trying here to control all those distances using Dynamo for a parametric design. First, I drew the lines on Revit, exported their point to excel using the script (find attached), and then called them again from the excel file. My goal here is to generate this geometry on an empty Revit file with user control inputs on these dimensions. I’m not sure how I can do this or the workflow that I should set up to make it easy for me in later stages. The final result will be a Revolved Solid of the parametric profile. Any tips or workflow example on any of these dimensions could help me a lot. thank you. Attached below the excel point file and Dynamo Script.

Decanteur-Test-V2.dyn (79.2 KB)
Points.xls (9.8 KB)

Since you’re in Revit, and I’d wager you want to maintain and reuse some aspects of a controlled parametric form:
In Revit:

1. model the sketch as a profile family.
  2. Set the dimensions you want to vary using parameters as you usually would.
  3. Load the family into the project.

In Dynamo:

1. Select the family type for the sketch profile.
  2. Get the type parameters.
  3. Have the user set the values for each parameter (datashapes UI++ can help here - remember you can load in an image to map parameter names to a sketch as well)
  4. Set the parameter values to the given values in the family type.
  5. End the current transaction and start a new one.
  6. Read the geometry of the family (with the new parameter values)
  7. Build a polycurve and set the rotation.

You may want to consider using a sweep with a hosted profile to parametricly control the form without the use of Dynamo over time.

3 Likes