Output script

Hi , i want to add a script to see the names of deleted ( view templates )

Can someone help me out please

Thx

Because you’re dealing with Ids, if you try to return the Id of the deleted template it won’t exist anymore. It’s best to get the template name before deleting, so inside your for e in toDelete: loop just add a line getting the element from the Id and the name from the element. Append that to a new list and return it at your output.

Thx Nick… but im still new in Dynamo, can u just show it in dynamo , write the steps for that … ( if it possible )

This forum is not for asking others to do your work for you. You need to show some effort and make an attempt yourself. Did you not write the code you’ve shown us? Using pieces and parts of other people’s code is a great way to get a jumpstart on your own development but you still need to at least understand what any code you use is doing because you’ll be the one supporting it. Take a look at the Revit API, specifically the Element Class, to see what methods you need. Take the time to understand the API and try to learn python. It’s incredibly powerful as soon as you get even a little bit proficient with it.

You could also do all of this with nodes if that’s easier for you. It’s the same general workflow of checking applied templates against all loaded templates and returning their names and Id’s for deletion.

1 Like

Thats what im doing now ( try and error ) , i been trying since 2 days to get the ID , but the code doesnt work at all , i need this thing urgent … thanks anyway

That’s good to know. Do you get any errors? What is the current output you get? We need more information if we’re going to be able to provide you any suggestions.

I dont have errors , but im trying to add a line after ( for e in toDelete: ) as u told me
to ge tthe elemnts name before deleting … but i dont find in the script ( element.name ) ??