Optimized Solar Louver Project

Hello all,

I am pretty new to the Vasari/Dynamo environment, but coming from the rhino/grasshopper world and using Revit for multiple documentation projects, I am really excited about some of the capabilities of the platform.

I am working on a conceptual project to help brush up on my skills and hopefully implement some new design strategies in my office. My idea is to create a solar optimized facade system. The basic concept is to have vertical louvers on the west/east facades and horizontal louvers on the southern facade. I am thinking that the placement, width and depth can be optimized per solar radiation and interior views.

As a starting point I am currently dividing a baseline curve into a 5’ module and placing a adaptive component to those points. The family contains an extrusion with 3 instance parameters that control width depth and height.

The first problem I have encountered is that the ‘adaptive component by points’ node errors out with the message 'unable to cast type container to type list. I am guessing that its a problem with my adaptive component family but I am unfamiliar with the container nomenclature. Any help on this would be great!

Ill be periodically posting back with progress and questions as I move along. Has anyone seen similar examples that have been previously done/documented that I can study as a reference?

Hope to hear some feedback.

After revisiting a few things I decided to go a slightly different route. Instead of using ACs I decided just to use a generic mass family with 3 instance parameters (width, depth, height). As a first step I think the results are heading in the right direction. Moving forward I am going to try and control the specific instance parameters through Dynamo based on some 'factor' (TBD). For now I will probably just try an attractor point then progress to optimizing them based on solar radiation. I might try to incorporate a rotational element as well.