[Open Discussion] Intellectual Property with Dynamo

Hi All,

I have been using Dynamo (and previously Grasshopper) for the last 2 months during a summer internship. I’m really excited by the number of doors parametric design opens. So far, both software’s success and easy hands-on rely strongly on an active and friendly community. When finishing my project, my company have asked me to look into Intellectual Property Protection of certain Dynamo Files that I created, even potentially functions or custom nodes that achieve very specific tasks.

Hence my open question to the community: is their any regulations of IP for such a collaborative environment ? I understand that it wouldn’t be reasonable to patent each and every custom nodes (or even packages) but to what extent would it be considered legitimate to protect a customized workflow that uses Dynamo ?

I apologize in advance if my question doesn’t make sense, I have no prior knowledge of patent regulation (except maybe the basics, i.e. what it is and how it works). Please share your thoughts and advise, I have been reading documentation online about BIM IP Protection but it hasn’t so far been very helpful.

Thank you all in advance !

Thomas

I’m not a lawyer, but I don’t think it would be something that would be easy to protect legally, as it is built on a framework of free structures, access to Revit API, open source platform, freely available packages etc.

On a more individual note, I think the days are numbered of trying to protect little pieces of code or workflows. They are deliberately easy to exchange and share now, that is what makes the community so good. I think larger pieces like fully custom dlls and connections to 3rd party software may be easier to control. Personally, I’m more interested in sharing than hoarding, but then, I am a blogger :slight_smile:

Hi Luke,