Nested Wall Parts

Hi,

In a new Revit file, I created 6 parts from 2 wall objects with nested parts on purpose to illustrate my question.
I can see 6 different parts in my view, that’s what I want.

But in dynamo, if I want to select all my parts in the model, I get 9 items, including the parent parts.

1. What could be the best way to select only visible parts ?

Then, I’d like to find the orientation of my parts, by getting their parent’s base line (wall).
As long as there are multiple level of child parts, I need to build a recursive code to extract a list containing only wall objects.
Existing node on SteamNodes package will only give first parent, so I get a mix of Wall and Part objects as a result.
I tried to construct something as a workaround, but it’s not recursive, so result’s reliability depends on how deep the structure will be.

I find that thread which gives me a little start. But I’m new with the Python for Revit Coding and I can’t find my way out of this.

Code:

import clr
clr.AddReference('RevitAPI')
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import *

clr.AddReference("RevitNodes")
import Revit
clr.ImportExtensions(Revit.Elements)

elements = UnwrapElement(IN[0])
elementlist = list()

def partParent(item):
	if item.Document.GetElement(item.HostElementId) == None:
		elementlist.append(item)
	else:
		partParent(item.Document.GetElement(item.HostElementId))

for elem in elements:
	partParent(elem)

OUT = elementlist
  1. How can I modify that code to recursively extract only very first wall parent ?

Any help would be very much appreciated, thank you in advance.

Would you be able to post the RVT file you are working from?

I think this should do it for you.

On second though this may not work because you can not figure out what wall belongs to what part. I might have time later but for now that is all the time I have.

I’m not currently at my office, so I can’t, but I think it’s pretty simple to reproduce, in 2 minutes max.