My Changes to DynamoSettings.xml are not respected ...?

Thanks for sharing your journals here as this is helpful for the team to investigate.

Hi, we would like a few more details : what are the exact versions/build numbers of Revit 2024 and Revit 2025 ? And the settings file is overwritten when you are opening Dynamo Player or when you are closing Revit ? Thank you.

Hi,

I was concerned that the machine I used before wasn’t clean enough. I followed the instructions for Autodesk clean uninstall but this didn’t focus on Dynamo (Appdata and registry). I set up a new machine with this in mind and cleaned out any references I could find in the registry and appdata, etc. to do with Dynamo also.

I then installed freshly made deployment images of Revit 24.3.40.26 20250918_1515(x64) 2024.3.4 & Revit 25.4.30.30 20250815_1515(x64) 2025.4.3

For the following, I took copies of the 2.19 & 3.3 folders located in the ..AppData\Roaming\Dynamo\Dynamo Revit folder. I also took copies of the Revit Journal Files at each step.

  1. Clean install - how the files where after the fresh install, Revit opened once to check working.
  2. Manually adding C:\Dynamo_Nash\Player\2.19 to the Revit 2024 Dynamo 2.19 player & C:\Dynamo_Nash\Player\3.3 to the Revit 2025 Dynamo 3.3 player.
  3. Closed the Players and Revit.
  4. Opened Revit again.
  5. Opened the standard Architectural Template
  6. Opened the Dynamo Player

At this point I noticed that the 3.3 dynamo player in Revit 2025 which had the path C:\Dynamo_Nash\Player\3.3 had been replaced with C:\Dynamo_Nash\Player\2.19

  1. I took the snapshot of the files after I closed down Revit because the Journal Files had not updated.

I’m happy to share these logs privately outside of this forum ?

Hi @NASHCAD , thank you for all detailed info. I was able to reproduce the issue.
What happens is that we have some smart migration feature that supposed to help the user to migrate settings from a previous version of Dynamo on the first run.
So the issue can also be reproduced just by opening Dynamo in the workflow you described ( Dynamo Player also starts an UI-less Dynamo in the background which leads to settings migration ).
There is an workaround and that is to set IsFirstRun to false in the settings file.
This seems to keep the settings in place without migration and I have not noticed other side effects.
We will fix the migration also with the first opportunity but until then I hope this will do.

Hi I have tested this and opened the player a few times. This location seems to be holding. Many thanks for your help on this.