Multiple Translations of varying lengths

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to dynamo and have had some experience with grasshopper, but I am struggling to get this. It sounded like a simple idea when I drew it out, but I think I am either over complicating it or just totally missing it.

Here is my goal: I am trying to create an object (extruded rectangle/box) that translates across the x-axis at some variable distance from the last object. For example: If I create a rectangle (2x10) I would like to be able to create linear series of these rectangles (along X-axis) with a space between each rectangle that has a random range of space between them. Rectangle 1 and Rectangle 2 would have a random (0-30) distance between them, Rectangle 2 and Rectangle 3 would have a random (0-30) distance etc… Ideally I would like to be able to do this with about 100 rectangles across.

I have made several attempts to do this but I have gotten myself a bit lost in how to construct this in Dynamo. ANY help help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Kevin

20150717-1

Vikram,

Thank you for the response! I seem to be missing the ByWidthHeight parameter within Dynamo. It does not recognize it. I am wondering if this is possible to do through a series of nodes? I don’t mind using code to complete the task but I am very unfamiliar with coding. I barely scrape by even with the nodes sometimes haha. I plan to use this as part of a larger script and I think it might help me move forward as I learn more about Dynamo and scripting in general. Thanks again for the help!

1 Like

Sorry, the script I posted was done in Dynamo Studio (0.8.0)

Change it to ByWidthLength and it will work.

Oh I see, thanks! that worked! I am trying to use the nodes built in Dynamo in order to recreate this script but I am struggling with deciphering the script…

Sorry I know this is a simple script.

1 Like

Hi Kevin,

I’d probably use something like this to replicate Vikram’s example:

2015-07-19_15-03-06

Hi Dimitar,