Loop While node implementation

Hi!

I’m new at dynamo and i’m having a bit of trouble implementing the loop while node. I’ve looked up the forum for everything related to this node but still can’t get this to work.

I’m trying to develop a function that imports text from a Revit General Annotation object, looks up the translation on a custom “dictionary” developed by the user (Excel file), and then writes back the translated text in another field of the Annotation.

I’ve managed to get everything to work except the loop part. The capture I’m posting is from a simplified version of this function where I’m just trying to write a constant value “Z” while going through the list of all the imported Annotative objects. The loop should increment the “index” value each time it runs (highlighted in red at the capture).

any help is appreciated! Thanks

Capture

1 Like

The loop while node is not easy to implement. Here’s one example:

http://dynamobim.com/forums/topic/there-are-a-few-numbers-how-can-you-sort-them-into-3-bowls/#post-19036

So to perform a successful while loop, we need an initial object (init, it can be an integer, an element, a list, etc.), an action to perform on the object for each cycle of the loop (loopBody, it has to be a function object) and a condition to terminate the loop (continueWhile, again has to be a function object).

In the example above I have a list of numbers and each cycle of the loop I remove an item from that list, until the sum of the resulting list equals or is less the sum of the initial list.

In your case, your initial object is a 0. An integer doesn’t have any parameters to set, so the first problem is your loop action. Also note that the SetParameter node isn’t acting as a function.