Importing plumbing fixture parameters from Excel to Revit

I am very new to Dynamo, and don’t have a lot of programing background.
I have been working on two dynamo scripts to modify parameters of Plumbing Fixtures in Revit. The first script exports all of my plumbing fixtures and their parameters into Excel. This seems to be working well.

I am running into problems when I try to get the edited parameters back into Revit. I seem to be dying at the List.GetItemAtIndex node. Warning: List.GetItemAtIndex operation failed. Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection. Parameter name: index

The Element.SetParameterByName is also getting the error: Warning: Internal error, please report: Dereferencing a non-pointer. I assume that it is because it is being given a list full of null values.

Right now I am just trying to get a single parameter to import before I add additional parameters from the excel file. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Hi @jacobs and welcome, try to sort your elements using the node List.SortByKey

Would the key for List.SortByKey be the “Mark”. ?

I’d suggest exporting the Element Id or GUID of the fixtures in addition to their mark, then use that to get the elements you need in the second script (Element by Id is available in 2021+ and lots of custom packages and can be called in design script).

1 Like

@GavinCrump I was hoping to avoid using 2021, and Ideally would be in 2018, but I might have to look at it.

with a little more adjusting I have the script making it until the last node. any recommendations on testing what parameters a family has if it is giving you problems? a lot of the tutorials I am finding for Revit to Excel and back are dealing with a single family, not all of the families in that category.

thanks again.