Import info from Excel? Data.ImportExcel operation Failed

Error: Data.ImportExcel operation failed :frowning_face: How can I import info from an Excel file??

I see that this topic has been covered. I am new at Dynamo and coding. Although, I tried the other threads’ suggestions I couldn’t find a solution. I would love your help.

I am following a Lynda tutorial on how to set up a project using Dynamo and an Excel file. It is supposed to create levels and later views on sheets based on the information in an Excel file.
https://www.lynda.com/Dynamo-Studio-tutorials/Import-floor-plan-data-Dynamo

The tutorial uses a node called Excel.ReadFromFile to import information from a specific worksheet in an excel file. Unfortunately I cannot find this node in Dynamo. So I used a similar node, Data.ImportExcel. The only difference between these nodes is that the Excel.ReacFromFile node does not contain an imput for showExcel.

I created the Dynamo script per the tutorial in every other way. Unfortunately, when I run the script the Data.ImportExcel operation fails. I am using Excel 2013 and the most current version of Dynamo in Revit 2019. I have tried saving the Excel file as a xlsx and xls file. Neither worked.

Why isn’t this node working in the same way the tutorial indicates? What can I fix to get my Excel information to be properly imported into my Dynamo script?

Thanks!!

I have had better luck using the OOTB Excel file reader, Excel.ReadFromFile

How did you get that node? That is the exact node that the tutorial recommended, but I couldn’t find it.

i think Benjamin_Doty1 is using Dynamo Version 1.3 /2 and you are using 2.0

Thanks Lucifer,
What do you recommend to get the Data.ImportExcel node to work?
Is there a similar node (and/or package) that you recommend for importing Excel data into Dynamo?

what is the error?

Yes. I am using 1.3.3

Warning: Data.ImportExcel operation failed