How to improve my dynamo script speed

Hi there,

After being inspired by @jacob.small on his recent visit to our offices in Hong Kong, I’ve written a few scripts, however my latest one is taking a long time to run. Since I’m still quite new to Dynamo, I suspect that there are shortcuts/improvements to what I am doing, however I’m not sure where they might be.

I am collecting up to 10,000 revit family location points, converting them to survey coordinates, drawing vertical lines from each to find intersections with 3 layers of topography, then extracting the Z coordinates of those intersections, which are then fed back to the revit file to update the levels of the families. I am also exporting to excel this data, but turning this off in tests has not made much difference.

I have been testing this on up to 20 location points and it takes 12 minutes, but with 10,000 to do, that’s a lot of time.

what is taking the time… is it the extracting and returning of the revit family parameters…? (see extract of the script below)

any ideas…?

Nick.

btw, I cannot yet upload my dynamo script as I am a new user, but I’m happy to share if this becomes possible later.

Side topic, when did @jacob.small come to Hong Kong???

2 Likes

I was there for a bit more than a week doing a targeted training with a few users back in early September.

@nicholas.andrew good to hear from you! Hope all is well.

Any chance you can you upload to a third party sharing site such as onedrive, google drive, box, etc?

It looks like you can replace those nodes shown with two Element.SetParameterValueByName nodes, making use of lists, lacing and levels will be important though. Think about the elephant, fish and colors example I gave in the second lunch presentation. Reworking those to take advantage of list processing will save some time and reduce the the amount of Ram used.