How to Get Unit type of a parameter and get it's unit symbol

Hi, I’m wondering if somehow I can get the unit symbol of any given element parameter. For example, if I have a list of mixed parameters. Some could be area, lengths, volumes… Is there any way for me to get a list of their Unit Symbols?

The method below didn’t work for me. Your help will be much appreciated.

I don’t believe Parameter and UnitType are the same. You would need to get the UnitType from the Parameter and then get the symbols.

Thank you for your answer. But still, can you tell me how i can do that? maybe there’s some specific node I’m not aware of. Sorry, I’m a bit new to dynamo.

@Nick_Boyts I tried to get the unit type from the parameter, but i need a node with unitType output maybe not a string. And even with this methode, i’m not sure if i can make it work. Thank you for your help.

You may have to use python.

@Nick_Boyts I can use python indeed, but the problem here, that i don’t understand why Parameter.UnitType give me this “Autodesk.Revit.DB.forgeTypeID” and don’t give me something like UT_Area or UT_Length?

Hard to say without any knowledge of your family or the parameter. Sounds like the parameter is coming from (or going through?) Forge if I had to guess. Try it with a builtin parameter first to make sure everything works the way you’d expect.

@Nick_Boyts
So I tried with a generic wall, chose the area as a parameter but still having this “ForgeTypeID”. The family I’m using are custom families that I made myself and the parameters I’m trying to get are all well configured if it’s an area or length or volume. What this Forge refers to?

Hey good sir !
Can you share your revit and dynamo versions ? because it works just fine for me !
Revit 2020.2
Dynamo 2.3

Hi,

You should read this article : The Building Coder: PDF Export, ForgeTypeId and Multi-Target Add-In
The DisplayUnitType method is deprecated in Revit 2022.

1 Like