Get Python Code to act on current model

Hey all i’m a newbie on this forum and tried to search for an answer before posting but could not locate anything to help, so here it goes.

Backstory:
I have a Dynamo Graph combined with a python node and am accessing it through a button on a Dyno Browser tab. It is working great if I only have one model open. If I have more than one model open and I activate the command it works on the first model I open even if my current active view is in the second model.

Question:
Is there a way to have the python code direct the code to be run in the model with the active view?

‘working’ code snip is pasted below:
Thanks for the help

doc = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentDBDocument
if doc.IsWorkshared:
    TransactionManager.Instance.EnsureInTransaction(doc)
    create_arch_worksets(A_Worksets)
    TransactionManager.Instance.TransactionTaskDone()
    OUT = new_worksets

elif doc.IsWorkshared == False:
    if doc.CanEnableWorksharing() == True:
        doc.EnableWorksharing(A_Worksets[0], A_Worksets[1])        
        create_arch_worksets(A_Worksets)
        A_Worksets.sort()

OUT = A_Worksets

Are you using the Dynamo Player? It will automatically shift focus to the active model if you switch.

You are correct it does shift focus to the active document, however it I have it set up so the user can choose their discipline with a button selection on the dyno browser, if I run it through the player it only runs the variable that is set in the dyno graph. Need to have some sort of selection process.
ex.
Landscape Worksets
Structural Worksets
Architectural Worksets
…and so on for a total of 8 separate choices.

Can this be done with dynamo?

Check out the DataShapes package. This would allow you to run the graph from the player but also allow the user to make a selection. You could use a UI.DropDown node if the user only needs to pick a single option or the UI.Listview node if multiple selections need to be made.

1 Like