Exception Handling Approaches

I’m nearly entirely self taught when it comes to my coding knowledge, and have been slowly expanding my capabilities as needs have come up/as I’ve had time to delve deeper and try to improve my scripts.

One thing that I’ve been trying to get better about is checking for, and handling errors in the code. My approach thus far has essentially been trying to keep in mind where an exception might arise, catching it, and using TaskDialog to put that in a pop-up so that I don’t have to open the file, and re-run the script if I hit an error.
Or, at least make the script output that error into a watch node so I can see the error from within the player.

The reason I’m making this post is that there are a number of more experienced/educated individuals in here and I was hoping some would be kind enough to take the time to share knowledge on the subject. :slight_smile:
Do you have a different, potentially better approach?
Do you use a catch-all? Something like creating a main() function and then running try/except on that?

It depends on how and where you’re authoring code.

Via nodes I used to use the DataShapes UI++ nodes to let users know there was a problem, tell them to hit undo in Revit, and give them a list of ‘known issues’ to look into.

With Python we can be more controlling, which is nice, but it means you have to be more controlling. I have been utilizing a try / except statement, with a nested combination of a ctypes messagebox and sys.exit on a few larger Python code bases lately, which pops up the formatted error message for the user to see, discards the transaction group previously started, and then terminates the active execution of the Python node in the Dynamo environment.

WIth zero touch nodes I imagine similar could be worked out, depending on how you wanted things to execute.

3 Likes

Ah, yeah I suppose I could have specified I write everything in Python.