Excel to Revit

Hi everyone.

I’m new to Dynamo and have been working on my first script. So far so good, but I want to take it to the next level. I currently have a list of data in excel for tanks that I want to feed to Revit tank family’s parameters.

In my spreadsheet I will have ‘Tank number’ in Column A which is each tanks unique ID. In my Revit model each tank will have a Mark value representing the tank number. The tank family will have a a bunch of parameters that will match the data in my spreadsheet.

My question is, how do I get Dynamo to:

1. Read my ‘Tank no.’ column in Excel

2. Automatically find corresponding tank family in Revit by matching its Mark parameter

3. Assign the rest of the data in that row to matching parameters in that family

So far I have managed to do this but it is very much a long-hand way to do it I believe and for every tank (could be up to 400) i will have to create a new script manually, so it needs to be more dynamic with perhaps one script that will do any number of tanks.

I would be really interested to see how someone with more experience would go about it.

Files below

Thanks in advance,

Sam.

Tank Farm

Hey Sam,

One of the gurus might be better served helping you but I think it might be an easier/better way to export your element IDs to excel initially with marks etc. then when you import you can use the ID to element node which is part of the archi-lab.net package. Not sure how this will work in with your workflow.

Did you have an example excel file for us to use to possibly provide a solution? Or at least a screenshot of your formatting?

Hi John,

Yes please click on the ‘Tank Farm’ link below my name on the OP.

Or here:Tank Farm

Many thanks,

Sam

Sam-