Errors with Creating Script for Placing Void at pipe & slab intersect (linked model)

Hi All,

I have been scrolling through and trying to figure this out all morning, and have been a bit stone-walled so have logged in to put a post up. I am new to this, so any and all advice would be great.

so far, it looks like this:

the Element.IntersectsElement error is that there are anomlymous elements from a linked revit model

the other is saying that there are illegal file paths

Thanks in advance!
Chris Mc.

The FilterByBoolMask node is giving an error about illegal file paths? That doesn’t make sense, but it looks like you’re not feeding it booleans. It also looks like you filter the list of elements once and then try to filter them again but with the original list. This will mean you have mismatched lists. You’ll want to filter the already filtered list of elements so that everything matches.

Hi Nick,

Thanks for getting back to me… I’m sorry but I don’t quite get what you mean?

Cheers,
Chris

Which part?

The mismatched lists part? I think i’ve fixed the file path issue, but i’m getting ‘specified cast is not valid’ instead:

Where? It’s hard to guess at what’s happening without seeing the node data. Can you post a screenshot with the node preview bubbles pinned or with Watch nodes?

Originally you had two FilterByBoolMask nodes. The second one was filtering the original element list, after those elements had already been filtered for use with the second BoolMask. This would mean that your boolean list would not match your element list since the former was filtered already and the latter was not.

Hi Nick,

You are absolutely right, I don’t know why that was there… I don’t even remember doubling up and just went blind to it… that has completely fixed the previous issues.