Error in geometric options of elements.... PYTHON..?

Good morning.
As you already know, I am new to python and this time I am trying to obtain the GEOMETRIC OPTIONS OF THE ELEMENT, but it gives me an error… that I am doing it wrong and how can I correct it… I would be very grateful if you could explain to me what fragment of text I deo to apply when the revit api shows me code.
Thank you so much.

opciones geo.dyn (3.5 KB)

opciones geo.rvt (2.3 MB)

try to use opciones = Options() instead

Gracias…
Why does it give me as a result these elements that mean … and why in some 2 in others 3???

not sure why. i tried with 2 different type of column and get this.

oh! you also have to use WhereElementIsNotElementType() unless you want those in your list.

1 Like

I followed your steps and I keep getting 3 elements for each column… which one should I work with???
Could you please review the file that I attached at the beginning and see if you get the same amount as me

Hope you’re sitting down for this one as you’re going to have to do a good bit of experimentation to really understand the overall scope.

First up, it’s important to note a two things about geometry in Revit.

1. Geometry is secondary to elements
  2. Geometry is calculated on demand

The first is important as it means you can’t just ask for geometry, but you have to pull it form something else. This is somewhat unique to Revit - if you look at say an IFC file, you can define a curve, or a solid, or whatever without having an element in the building.
The second is important as it means nothing is there to quarry from the object until you ask for it - it’s not stored in the file directly, but how to build the geometry is.