Element.GetParameterValueByName node produces empty list

Hi, I have been noticing a problem with the Element.GetParameterValueByName node.
This issue did not happen before the advent of Cpython3.

I am using a code that outputs Family Types for a given category, in this case, BuiltInCategory.OST_Casework. From there, in the past I would connect the output of this Python node into the Element.GetParameterValueByName node and I would use a string codeblock to call for “Family Name”. This worked as expected before but now I obtain no values whatsoever:

Upon further inspection, I studied the list out of Element.Parameters and realized there were 2 parameters for Family Name, and the second is empty:

I searched in this forum and found the most useful thread was this:

However, the fix is complex if you have used the Element.GetParameterValueByName in multiple occasions, as you would expect it to be the case with such a critical node. This also happens when other critical parameters are called, as for example Type Name:

It seems like the 2 parameters are actually different according to their ID’s, in my case, the Family Name parameter with a value is at index 17:

To clarify the situation, the issue that I am experiencing is that Dynamo always chooses the “no value” version when I use the Element.GetParameterValueByName node, hence causing the script to fail in multiple areas.

Please advise, and apologies in advance if this has been discussed, I have not found any threads besides the above mentioned and that one would only work if the Element.GetParameterValueByName node has been used a reduced number of times, I do not see how that solution could be applied extensively.

Thank you!

Certain parameters exist with duplicates from other contexts/inheritances. Getting the value from one of these parameters by name is inconsistent because there’s no way to specify which one you’re after. (This has nothing to do with the python version.)