Dynamo GIS map to volumes in Revit using Elk

gps maps to Dynamo Elk mapping.dyn (203.7 KB)

Hi everyone

Dynamo beginner here. Im using the Elk package and tried to create way to extrude volumes from GIS maps to Revit floors…
Couldn’t figure out a way to generate mass instead of floors, any ideas?
Also it would be great to get the hang of how to extrude the building volumes to the actual heights, and to get the OSM features like ‘highways’ to patch the surface properly, now is closing the polygons in a weird way which creates a lot of triangular shapes instead of rectangular surfaces…

Thanks in advance!
//Kalo

Hey,

ImportInstance.ByGeometries is one way…

Have a look here…

I don’t know if you get enough vector info from OSM to do highways, the buildings are there but that’s the majority of it? I’d like to find out though :slight_smile: Topography would be another thing…

Hope that helps,

Mark

Thanks will give this a try!
I can see however you are using some nodes I cant find… the boundingbox in the beginning? and also Im not finding the DownloadOSM

The second option uses a .shp file? Is this some conversion from a .dwg or how do you find it?

Thank you

Hey,

Perhaps the GIS2BIM package? It’s great :slight_smile:

That’s a bit more involved… in the UK we have LIDAR info which is open source. Having downloaded it, I used QGIS (also open source) I could export .shp files which included the building footprint & height.

In other countries it’s possible to use NASA information for height… I’ve obviously not really used it, but here’s a link that might be useful to you… https://dynamonodes.com/2016/06/14/workflow-srtm-data-to-topography-in-revit/

Cheers,

Mark

2 Likes

Great, thanks i found the package in Dynamo!
QGIS homepage is down for some reason…

If you’re keen on QGIS I wrote a step by step guide, let me know how you get on…

I tried feeding my own OSM file into the OSM. location and it works somewhat