Dynamo for maintenance?

Hi everyone! I’m using Revit for my master thesis project, using it to model an old church. I want to use the model for maintenance purposes too. I’m using a plugin that describes all the interventions that are supposed to be done and the calendar of the inspections. But there isn’t an actual connection between the model objects and these informations.
I’d like to take the calendar dates exported from the plugin and the instructions, associate them with the model elements and color-override them when the time of the inspection is approaching.
I have never used Dynamo, so I’d like to know if it’s possible to do so (even just for few elements as an example) and if the answer is yes if it’s too difficult for a total beginner as myself.
Thank you for your patience!!
3Cattuwefcra|690x485

I don’t think the general process would be hard, just taking information from Excel to Revit. The hard part would be determining which elements belong to any given calendar event.

2 Likes

If I have to do it with one element only would it be hard?
Let’s say I have a door and a series of operations that I have to do during a period of time. Can I easily link the information and the control dates to this door?
From what I got it, if I wanto to use Dynamo I don’t need to program but to use already-done script right?

You will need to use some visual programming for this. Not a huge learning curve and worth the time to learn as the concepts and knowledge will be a huge asset to you after graduation.

2 Likes

You should know the difference between textual and visual ‘‘programming’’ though, and not be scared away.

The number of elements isn’t the hard part either. It’s determining which elements you need to modify. If you already have the list of elements for each event then you’re in a good position. You just need to set up parameters (which could be done using Dynamo) and fill in the proper information.