Dimensioning Structural Support Assemblies

Hi All,

I am still a bit new to the Geometry side of Dynamo and I am struggling to add dimensions in my assembly drawings. I have read through a few posts on creating dimensions and have tried to follow the workflows but with no success. My script does return a dimension but is nowhere to be seen in my view.
Thanks in Advance.

Hi @chris.geylenx,

What is the category of the Element you’re trying to dimension ?
Invisible dimensions are often dimensions with an inverted line location.
You can select by ID the created dimension and see if it is somewhere.

Hi @Alban_de_Chasteigner,
The category I am trying to dim is Structural Framing.
I have selected the dim by ID and the workset parameter shows it is in the correct view.

Once the invisible dimension is selected, you can move it with arrows on keyboard and see if it appears. If yes, this is indeed an issue with the location Line.

When I try move it, the references become invalid and wants to delete the dimension.

Hi,

Here is a quick example with a beam :

1 Like

Thanks

I have tried the above script but seems like will only work on line based systems, whereas the family I have was created as a general family and using a parameter to extrude a profile for it’s length, I will create a profile and line based family of a unistrut and confirm with you if that will work. Thank you for the help @Alban_de_Chasteigner