DesignScript Novice - What am I missing here?

I’m new to DesignScript, so bear with me. I find examples of usages online, but I have a hard time finding documentation to further explain what I’m seeing. Yes, I have pdfs for DesignScript Guide and Documentation.

In this case, I think I have understood how to use __Apply and maybe __ApplyList, but I’m not getting the results I expect. I have googled for __Apply and __ApplyList but have come up with nothing. Again, just people using it, but it’s not in the DesignScript Guide or Documentation that I can find.

Anyway, see the Dynamo script I’m working on. I am trying to use the Dynamo node String.Contains within the DesignScript code. As you can see, the two lines using __ApplyList are returning null. That’s the first question. What am I doing wrong there. I tried with __Apply first and got “Function” in the Watch nodes.

What I need these two lines to return is a list of boolean values for each item in the list passed to it.

I then need to use those two lines for the output of line 5 to then use in line 9.

If __Apply and __ApplyList don’t or can’t work here, is there a substring function in DesignScript that I can use instead of the String.Contains node?

Thanks!
Matt

@TheMattatonAP I am also a novice so maybe I’m not understanding what you’re asking. Apologies if my answer is incorrect. However, I’m trying to be more active in the community instead of lurking and can’t do that and not make mistakes in the beginning. Why not use DSCore.String.Contains function? I couldn’t find any information on what _Apply or _ApplyList functions come from to help debug your issue. I would say make sure that “KEY_Door UG Letter” parameter is a string type otherwise you might need to convert to string before you use a string function.

Hope this helps,
Peter

1 Like

Thanks, Peter. Nice to know other DS newbs. Although you knew about DSCore.String.Contains, so you’re ahead of me. :smiley: