Delete random items from list?

How can I randomly delete items from a list? I’m trying to remove a set percentage of curtain grids from a grid system - I have a list of all the grids.

So I had already tried something similar to your blog post (but without lunchbox) first to remove every nth item in the list, but something isn’t working right. The run completes but no segments are deleted.

(ignore the random numbers chain down at the bottom, not using it for anything)

Try flattening the list of grid segments?

Flatten between the code block and the remove segment node? Doesn’t seem to work.

after the take every nth :slight_smile: Also take note of lacing in my example on the post

I think this should work well… you can set the percentage of itens on the list that you want to remove.

Still doesn’t work :confused: Also, I don’t see anything about lacing in your post (not exactly sure what lacing entails anyways). I’m fairly new to Dynamo obviously :grin:

I gave this a shot but no results no grids get removed…would it be because my list is of segment curves from the curtain grid, not lines like in your example?

I don’t think so, I thougth it would work for any list, since it does not handle the object type, only index and lists lengths… Have you used exaclty the same nodes and linked them correctly?

Yes, unless I’m missing something I don’t see…I just skipped the code block referring to OriginalList and hooked it straight up to my list.

I guess I missunderstood you on your first question then… Your final list has 155 itens and your original 212, I thought you just wanted to remove those itens on that list as it was actually done…

I’m trying to remove the actual curtain grids to achieve a random spacing on my curtain wall. Removing the items from the list in your method doesn’t remove the actual grids in Revit.