Delete elements from a list of IDs

Hi all,

I´m new in the forum so I’ll quickly introduce myself: my name is Francisco, I’m a spanish architect living in UK, currently working with Revit 2014 in a very big project with lots of tedious tasks, that’s why I’m interested in Dynamo and Python (I’m slowly learning, but the lack of time doesn’t help!).
For now I’m afraid that I’ll ask more than I’ll help others, but hopefully that will change soon.

I’ve just made my first Dynamo Workflow so far: just export a list of filters in the project to an Excel file, where the first column is the name of the filter and the second the ID of the filter.

The idea is to create a file with list of IDs (only the filters I want to delete in this case) and make Dynamo read that file and delete those elements. But I only managed to delete all the filters, not the ones I want, and just by selecting all elements, not by reading a list from an external file.

Any ideas on this?

Thanks!

There are also a lot of posts on here regarding grabbing data from excel.

Compare the 2 lists (list contains), and use filterbyboolmask (it will give the filters that don’t match you excel list.).
Maybe post what you have so far.

Thanks for the answers.

John, I’ve replicated your idea but does nothing. I’ve tried inside the Code Block “11408”; 11408; 11408…all the combinations, but didn’t delete the filter.

That’s a great idea salvatore, although I still have to reach that point. This is what I have now, just export to excel. Deleting a list of IDs from a file / copy&paste may be a different node.

@franciscusm I don’t think you need to export the element IDs, just the names would be enough.

Use your script to updated your list of filters.

Create another script and try follow my previous suggestions
1- Compare the names (strings)
2- Fitlerbyboolmask
3-delete

Then what I would need is delete the elements from a list of names (or IDs would work for me also).