Creating a new Workset

I have the need to create a script that would accomplish the following:

1. Refer to an excel spreadsheet that would have values of Revit categories in one column, and in the other column a workset name

2. Then in Revit I would need to create the worksets contained in the excel file

3. After that, I would need to change the workset of all elements in each category listed to the workset name that corresponds in the column next to it in the excel file.

I know this is crazy, but its a client requirement in one of our large overseas projects. As far as I can see the API does not allow the creation of worksets, only reading ones that already exist. I am just checking here first to see if anyone has a workaround or different way to tackle this problem. I am new at programming so the API and Python are kind of beyond reach at the moment.

Thanks.

As a rule of thumb, you can assume that anything Revit-related (i.e. creating or manipulating Revit elements) that you cannot do with the Revit API cannot be done using Dynamo either. So if there’s no support for creating worksets via the API it will not be possible in Dynamo either. Or at least that’s how I understand it…

Ok, makes sense.

I will create the worksets manually, but now I have hit another roadblock. I am trying to set the workset of instances of a certain category, and I keep getting the error that the workset parameter is read only. Is this another limitation?

It works fine when I use the select by type nodes, but with the select category nodes it creates the read only error. The reason I can’t do it by type is that certain categories, like doors, don’t show up on the list.

Set Workset By Category

workset is not a parameter to be set with this node. it is a BuiltIn parameter, so you have to deal with a Python+API node to achieve this. possible though as described in this post from the building coder: http://thebuildingcoder.typepad.com/blog/2013/01/change-element-workset.html