Convert text to 3D text in Dynamo for Civil 3d

Hello, everyone!
We have addins for Civil 3D that can generate manhole names as normal text (not mText) in Civil 3D - and we’re looking to create a dynamo script that selects all text instances - then creates 3D text.

As such, has anybody tried this before? I’m fairly new to Dynamo, and after looking around online, I have not found anybody with a similar question.

I imagine there are two ways of doing this;

1. If possible, can Dynamo extract both the inside and outside edges of the text, and use that to extrude the text into a 3D Solid? (This is how we’ve achieved this in Grasshopper previously).
    Or possibly converting text to Mtext, then somehow using the input data to generate 3D solids of the list values?

2. Alternatively, if not, is it possible to run AutoCAD commands from Dynamo?
    If so, we could use the old-fashioned way of moving each individual name to origio, then going through the whole TXTEXPLODE-Extrude-Union-3D-rotate operation, however I hope that we can find a smarter way about this.

Any ideas?
Help would be greatly appreciated,

Hi
Yes, there is a node to create 3D text as solids in the Camber package.
I already do what you ask for in one of my scripts but instead of using the text I get structure name and create 3D solids from that above the structures.

2 Likes

Excellent, this is exactly what I am looking for - thank you!
I managed to get most of it right - however, I cannot seem to return the 3D solids back into Civil 3D.
The Object.ByGeometry does not respond to the solid output from the Camber node. Do you have any tips?

Great :slight_smile:
If the Object.byGeometry don’t create solids in C3D usually the temp folder in C:\Temp and %temp% is full. Try to clean them, will usually fix the issue.

Yes, thank you so much - the texts I’m trying to convert are too far from Origo, so it’s working great when I do some tests with the text closer to 0,0.