Complex If/And/Else Statements

Hello! I’m fairly new to Dynamo. I am trying to do something that looks like this using a standard Revit formula:

if(and(x > 0, y > 0), if(x > y, x - y, y - x), if(and(x < 0, y < 0), if(x > y, x + -y, y + -x), if(x < 0, y + -x, x + -y)))

It is actually pretty simple with two integer inputs and one integer output but has a whole bunch of conditions.

The Formula Node won’t accept it, what is the most streamlined way to do this without a ton of nodes?

Thanks!

Sorry for me not understanding but where are you trying to put this formula?

The inputs are parameter values taken from elements and the output is a parameter value being inserted into same elements. I got that part working well.

Sorry i should have targeted the question more.
-Are the forumlas inside a family parameter or are they part of a sheet parameter etc etc… where exactly is it going?

I want to place this formula in a Dynamo node.

This formula I quoted above as an example was part of a schedule as a calculated value (but had actual parameter names instead of x/y). The input parameters are built-in parameters (start/end level offset = x/y) and the result of the calculation is inserted into a separate family parameter. I want to use Dynamo to set a family parameter value, I can’t do this in the family because it is using built-in parameters as part of the formula.

It looks like an absolute function for x - y, e.g. difference between two levels as a positive value
I’ve broken the logic down in python, hopefully you can follow along

def calculate(x, y):
    if x > 0 and y > 0:  # both positive
        if x > y:
            result = x - y
        else:
            result = y - x
    elif x < 0 and y < 0:  # both negative
        if x > y:
            result = x - y
        else:
            result = y - x
    else:  # one pos, one neg or at least one equals 0
        if x < 0:
            result = y - x
        else:  # x = 0 and y is any value, or y <= 0 and x >= 0