Column to column dimensions

Hello, I am pretty new to dynamo, I have gotten a good handle on it. But still have some issues with the nodes and how they go together.

I am trying to create a script that will allow me to select multiple columns and to create a dimension going from column to column. All of the columns that get selected are already aligned, and I have seen the column to grids scripts. I just have some projects that include a lot of aligned columns with no grids.

Here is what I have so far. I’ve tried dimensions by references and by elements. Neither seem to work for me. Any advice would be appreciated!

Hello @shayne.hoffman314 and welcome to the forum, it doesnt work with genius loci nodes?

2 Likes

No, every time I think I have it, no dimensions strings are created. I just made the first script you made, I am not getting any errors back, yet nothing in Revit still.

I am trying to make the second script, but what is the select model elements node with the single element selecting? If its a column, I cant get it to work with that element.curves node…

Hi does it work i f yo feed in the dimension element type ?

Thanks for the responses!

I had the element name to be sure I was pulling the right dimension type. But I just tried it without, and still no dimensions in Revit.

I finally was able to get dimensions to work, for some reason the dimension type was causing a null in the dimension by references node. Dont know why this was an issue for me, just glad I have a work around

Hey, I just caught into your thread and im trying to achieve a column to column dimension from a series of structural columns to centres in elevation. I’m new to Dynamo, any chance you could send an image to the working node layout?

Im using 2020, atm can could check if it works on that?

thanks